Official Poker Rules

The professional Tournament Directors Association (Poker TDA) is responsible for establishing and maintaining poker rules. Founded in 2001 by poker players Matt Savage, Linda Johnson, Jan Fisher and David Lamb, the organization currently has over 2,500 members from 63 countries. Its members include managers of live poker rooms, circuits, and independent tournaments. Among its members is WSOP Tournament Director Jack Effel.

In an official poker game, all players are assigned a starting amount of chips by the dealer. This amount of chips is placed on the table for each player who paid to be a part of the event. At regular intervals, blinds and antes are raised. At the end of the event, the highest-ranking player will win the pot.

The first betting round begins with the player to the left of the big blind. The player can then call, fold or raise. The betting rounds continue clockwise. Players may also choose to remain silent, raise, or fold, depending on their situation. They can also pass the cards to each other. If they are able to make the best five-card combination, they win the pot.

Poker etiquette is an important aspect of the game. Proper table manners help avoid gaffes and other problems. Following these rules can make a positive experience at the table and keep players coming back for more.